Landmark Filinvest and Civic Theater Bring Home 2019 AIANJ Awards!

Two of The Lighting Practice’s projects have received 2019 Design Awards from the American Institute of Architects (AIA) New Jersey chapter!

Landmark Filinvest: Merit, Built – Non-Residential Interior Design or Featured Element

The Philippines’ Landmark grocery store chain has revolutionized the country’s shopping experience. Led by Hugh A. Boyd Architect, the modern architectural design of the new location blends organic and geometric forms. Michael Barber and Ryan Conover created bright, seamless illumination throughout the market by studying feature elements and strategically tucking fixtures into the architecture. To mitigate the language barrier and time difference among the team, TLP communicated the lighting design using thoroughly detailed drawings. The team then coordinated mock-ups through architect Hugh Boyd, after which TLP reviewed and provided feedback.

Landmark Filinvest has also received the following awards: 2018 Gold Award from Shop! Design Awards, 2018 Best of the Year Award from Interior Design Magazine, and 2019 Philament Award from the IES Philadelphia Section.

Civic Theatre of Allentown: Merit, Built – Preservation

Mills + Schnoering Architects (M+Sa) designed a master plan for the renovation and restoration of the Civic Theatre, a 90-year landmark in Lehigh County, PA. Working closely with the client, M+Sa and the design team, TLP redesigned the lighting system within the box office, lobby, auditorium, stage, control booths, and concessions. Jered Widmer and Chris Hallenbeck refurbished the historic lighting while providing a modern, user-friendly system that comes in under energy code requirements. The new lighting control system is seamlessly integrated with the theatrical lighting system. Existing wall murals come to life with new illumination. Higher, more uniform lighting levels in the auditorium house improve the guest experience with minimal impact to the historic ceilings.

The Civic Theatre has also received a 2019 Pennsylvania Historic Preservation Award from Preservation Pennsylvania.

AIA helps architects serve the public’s needs while building awareness of the role of architects and architecture in American society. Established more than a century ago, AIA New Jersey is a local chapter of the national AIA. The annual AIA New Jersey Annual Design Awards Program recognizes architectural projects which exhibit design excellence. The chapter honors both built and unbuilt projects by AIA architects who are licensed and residing in New Jersey.

Congratulations to all the winners of the 2019 AIA New Jersey Design Competition. This year’s jury included: Karen Blanchard, Principal at Sitio Architecture + Urbanism, Jeff Goldstein, AIA, Principal at Digsau and Jeff Pastva, AIA, Project Architect at Bright Common. Awards will be given out at the 2020 AIA Awards Dinner on January 11, 2020.

Landmark Filinvest project team:

  • Hugh A. Boyd Architect
  • The Lighting Practice


Civic Theatre of Allentown project team:

Landmark Filinvest
Landmark Filinvest photos courtesy of Hugh A. Boyd Architects

Civic Theatre of Allentown
Civic Theatre photography by Aislinn Weidele